top of page

I'm off then: Sariaya - Lobo, Batangas Mountain bike ride


Lobo mountain bike route

February 5, 2016 - The municipality of Lobo lies at the southeastern coast of Batangas Province. Not a very popular tourist destination as compared to other areas of Batangas (most probably because of the area's remoteness), Lobo is now quickly gaining prominence in the hiking and outdoor world because of the beauty of its mountains. Popular hiking destinations include Mt. Tibig (closed), Mt. Naguiling, and Mt. Masalakot/ Nalayag Rocks.


Apart from its mountains, Lobo also has nice beaches to boast of. However, unlike those beaches in Laiya and Anilao where various resorts have already cropped-up- the coast of Lobo (passed Brgy. Hugom to Malabrigo) is undeveloped and preserved in its natural state. No high-end resorts here, just the quiet pebbled coastline with the view of the infinite waters of Tayabas bay. Along the Lobo road, the historical Victorian architecture inspired Malabrigo Lighthouse remains to remind one of the quaint times passed.


Lobo has been threatened by proposed mining activities recently. Thankfully, many opposed the project that will not only strip the area of its natural charms but endanger as well the world’s center of the center of marine biodiversity- the Verde Island Passage. With its now rising popularity among outdoor enthusiasts, I hope Lobo become known for its natural attractions than become another mining area.


xxx


I first went to Lobo in 2014, then went back just this January 2017 to hike Mt. Masalakot. Going there required almost 4 hours of travel from Manila- a travel time comparable to that of travelling to Baguio! Here on the second visit I noticed that the road to Lobo is very bikeable- I even saw cyclists on the way. The road is nicely paved and there is less cars on the road- only when we passed Malabrigo that some portions of the road turned rugged.


Because of the nice views of mountains and the coast while our van was travelling, I came up with the idea of biking to Malabrigo from Sariaya, Quezon- a 70 kilometer route based from my digital map.


The route was this: Sariaya- Laiya, San Juan- Hugom- and finally, Malabrigo. Looking at the digital map, the road seems easy and doable. My parents wanted to have a family day so they also agreed to tail me during my solo training ride (which turned out to be more of an adrenaline packed adventure trip!).


Sariaya- Laiya, Batangas


I went out first since my parents will be following me by car. I started at about 0630H from our house and biked the now very familiar way to San Juan, Batangas via the Quezon-San Juan Eco-tourism road (ETR). This is an easy ride as the road from my house to the ETR goes downhill through alternating paved and unpaved road.


View from the Quezon ETR


As with provincial roads, there is less traffic and pollution. Trees lined the highways and there would always be wide views of rice fields passed the town centers. Once I reached Laiya, various resorts popped up along the roadside and continued until I reached Brgy. Hugom. I met some cyclists riding their road bikes during my trip to Laiya. A few kilometers more of paved road and resorts passed Brgy. Hugom and then the rough road fit really for 4x4s started.


Quezon Eco-tourism Road

Part of the Quezon Eco-tourism road going to San Juan, Batangas


Bryg. Hugom – Mt. Masalakot/Nalayag Rocks Jump-off


The digital map I use tell the way and not the type of terrain and road condition so I was very surprised when the road we have to pass started to become rugged and muddy. Turns out that the road development passed the high class resorts are just starting!


Steep ascents and sharp descents characterized the trail I had to cover. It winds through the mountains and being near the coast as well, there is always a panoramic view of the ocean. The trail was open but the sea breeze that keeps blowing kept me still feeling refreshed.


View of the ocean from Brgy. Hugom


The rugged road continued and I breezed through the scenic mountain road. I am not an expert at mountain biking but the sharp descents of the trail truly required good control of the bike as one wrong mistake on the brake will send me tumbling down. Going up, the biker has to have a good grip on changing gears to make the ascent bearable.


It was an epic feeling biking alone in a long, winding road. The sea was on another side, the forests on another- I kept thinking that I was feeling whatever Walter Mitty was feeling as he rode a longboard across Iceland. I was just so happy experiencing the beauty of the Philippines by bike!


Trail going to Lobo, Batangas


Up and down I went passing rivers and quiet coastal towns. There are no high end resorts now- only the long expanse of pebbled beach and the sea stretching to infinity. No other guests were present- my parents and I were the only non-locals around and people look at us with questioning glances and wonder. From the looks of people, it seems that it is very rare for a solo biker to go to that part, even rarer if that biker is a girl. There were children saluting and cheering me along the way.



A little past noon we reached the jump-off to Mt. Masalakot/Nalayag rocks. I was asking some local for a place where we could eat and he pointed me to a waiting shed. Turns out that area is the jump-off to the mountain we have just climb last week! I was thrilled to be back and happy as well because I know from our hike that Malabrigo is just a few kilometers more.


Nalayag jump-off to Malabrigo


View of Mt. Masalakot from the road going to Malabrigo Lighthouse


It is only 6 kilometers from the Nalayag jump-off to Malabrigo according to the map. Though covering only a short distance, the road is mostly very steep (but paved, thank you!) that I have to get off my bike and walk. I remember the way from the hike last weekend but because I was in a van, I did not felt the ascents that much. However, travelling by bike in the heat of the noonday sun with all the exhaustion from the last 64 kilometers, the last few stretch became so challenging. I was so close to giving up, especially on the final assault before the lighthouse. Good thing I continued! I will not forgive myself if I stopped just a few meters from my goal.


Malabrigo Lighthouse- goal of the weekend ride!



Other photos:


There were a lot of scenic places on the way. Here, my parents and I stop and admire the views.


Many thanks to my parents for being my "support" during the ride. With the challenging terrain, it will be dangerous to bike the trail alone. Only a few vehicles pass the area (and these are mostly motorcycles) and communities are located far apart so rescue will take time if an unlucky instance happen. Cellphone signal is intermittent.


For reference, here is the elevation graph of the whole bike ride:





































Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page