top of page

Mt. Kofafey: A Window to the Wonders of Maligcong, Mountain Province


Mt. Kofafey

April 16, 2016- As the 2016 Caving Congress at Sagada came to a close, I decided to do a solo travel to Maligcong, Mountain Province to visit a friend and to finally climb Mt. Kofafey. It was not the first time I visited the quiet town. I first went there on 2011 to attend a Sang-fu/ Kil-id ritual and it feels so nice to be coming back after five years.


To go to Maligcong from Sagada, I took a jeepney bound to Bontoc. It was a short 45-minute ride and as the jeepney traversed the winding highway I can see the grandness of the Cordillera again while sitting at the top of our vehicle. It was not the safest thing to do but where else can I get a 360o view of the mountains? Better take the risk!


Fare (Sagada-Bontoc): P40


Bontoc- Maligcong


There are three jeepney trips from Bontoc to Maligcong: at 1200H, 1400H, 1630H. However, these times are not always followed and the jeep can leave earlier than scheduled especially if there are many passengers. I was left behind by the jeep twice and together with another solo traveller with the same fate as mine, decided to take the tricycle instead of waiting for the last trip. It was not a good choice but it was our last option as we don’t want to wait for another 2 hours.


The tricycle cannot negotiate the road all the way to Maligcong. Because of this we have to walk for an hour up to the steep Maligcong road. As a hiker I should not complain but the load I was carrying is more than my body can handle (almost 18kgs!). I was not prepared to walk with a full 55-litre pack, really. On the brighter side, I met a friend on this walk (hello, Laureen!) and learned a lesson: be prepared for the worst, bring only what you can carry because in solo travel, no one will help you carry your load other than yourself.


Fare:

Jeepney- P20 or

Tricycle- P30 (take this only as a last option or if you are prepared to hike!)


Maligcong


Rescued from the gruelling walk and the on-coming rain and hail by helpful local homestay owners who let me hitch for a ride, I finally arrived at Manang Rowena’s place at Maligcong Terraces View Guest Haus. It was the same house where I stayed before but now it looks very ready to receive guests for homestays.


Because I arrived late, Manang Rowena and I just toured around the rice terraces instead of hiking Mt. Fato. We started at almost 1600H- I think this is a very ideal time to explore and appreciate the rice terraces as the sun is just starting to mellow down giving the world a magical golden light. We went down from our walk an hour later, fixed ourselves, the food, and then had our dinner together with the guests from Russia.


Registration Fee: P20


Maligcong Rice Terraces

Maligcong Rice Terraces in the golden hour before sun down

Maligcong Rice Terraces, Mountain Province

Mt. Kofafey: One Window, Many Views


April 17, 2016- At 0510H we started our little hike to Mt. Kofafey. Though rising at about 1,686 masl, the walk to the summit only takes an hour. It is advisable however to leave at 0400H or 0430H just to be sure that one can witness the sunrise. We were not at the summit at the break of dawn but arrived there just in time to see light slowly illuminate the sea of clouds which we are lucky to have seen.


Mt. Kofafey

The trail to the summit of Mt. Kofafey passes through a lovely pine forest. Can't help but remember scenes from Norwegian Wood again!

Mt. Kofafey

Mt. Kofafey trail is verdant green. Different wild flowers grows everywhere, too.

Mt. Kofafey

For such short hike, the view at the summit is a great reward. I had been at Mt. Pulag thrice and have seen the famous sea of clouds at the mountain’s summit each time but I was still awed at what I saw at Mt. Kofafey. Though we are looking at one view point only, the scenery changes at every shift of the clouds and light.


Mt. Kofafey at dawn

Mt. Kofafey

There were only six of us at the summit, thankfully. As hiking becomes more and more popular, having the summit “all to yourself” becomes rare so it feels nice to be in a mountain where there are only a few people around.


There we enjoyed the quiet teasing of the clouds as it showed and then hid again distant mountain peaks, relished the slight chill of the morning, and basked in our own silences and dreams. It was a beautiful morning. I didn’t find poetry as we waited for the clouds to part and give us a clear view of the rice terraces below, rather, I felt like I was inside a poem. And I would like to feel that poetry again, soon.


Maligcong rice terraces as seen from Mt. Kofafey

Maligcong rice terraces as seen from the summit of Mt. Kofafey


After Mt. Kofafey, Manang Rowena and I took the long way home by walking around the rice terraces again. By 0845H we were back at the homestay for breakfast.


xxx


After breakfast we went to the Paducar family’s old house. We took the new road going there and traversed again to the rice terraces. Going back I saw the nearby Favarey village and the many rice granaries used by the locals to keep their rice. It was a long walk but who complains? I love walks especially in the mountains.


Favarey Village, Maligcong

For those who want to go to Maligcong, you can contact Ms. Rowena Delim of Maligcong Terraces View Guest Haus at 0915-188-1732. You can also message her in facebook at this link.

Maligcong Terraces View Guest Haus

Maligcong Terraces View Haus is truly home away from home!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page