top of page

The Great Escape: Boracay Island Bike Tour


Boracay Bike Tour

July 3, 2016- Boracay Island at Aklan is a known tropical paradise, an idyllic place to escape from all the burdens of the world. With its fine white sand beaches and clear blue waters, it has been attracting tourists from all over the Philippines and the world. It is a perfect vacation spot where one can just relax at beach or explore and experience the island via sail boat, ATVs or other outdoor activities. However, with the influx of tourists and the unmitigated development, it has become hard finding tranquillity in the world renowned island. There was a need to get away to somewhere quiet, to a place where there are few people. Hence, my great escape.


Being a two-time Boracay visitor, I can say that I have experienced most of the popular activities in the island which includes walking the expanse of the famous White Beach, sailing around the island, snorkelling, partying at one of clubs, and swimming at its famous crystalline sea. Though there are many other activities I have yet to try like helmet diving, karting, ATV rides, paddle boarding, etc., I choose the least expensive (or should I say free) way to explore, as well as escape the island's busiest area on my third visit: biking.


We took the To-go vessel that docks at the Batangas Port to reach Caticlan. It is a bit of a hassle lugging around a 13-kg bicycle- I had a lot of bruises and oil stains- but every struggle was worth it especially that transportation around the island costs a lot. (Minimum tricycle fare is P100.00- one way)


Shaped like a dog bone, Boracay is a small island-only 7-km long with an area of 10.32 km2. From my researches, one can bike the whole island in less than half a day. Since it is my dream to bike smaller Phillipine islands, I really pushed to bring my folding bike with us. Also, it costs almost P300/hr to rent a mountain bike at so it is better to bring your own bicycle if you can.


I biked the northern part of the Island during my morning ride. I stopped at White Beach Station. 1, then went straight to Puka Beach- a well-known but much quieter, less congested beach at the tip of the island.


"Comet" at Puka Beach

Puka Beach, Boracay

Following a gps guided route, I then went to Ilig-iligan beach where very few tourists venture. I arrived there to find a few locals having an early morning swim, as well as another group of bikers.


Ilig-iligan Beach, Boracay

Ilig-iligan Beach


I then climbed to the highest point of the island - Mt. Luho. At 100 masl, the climb was steep and ATV riders were looking at me with pity in their eyes. It was not an easy hike, but there is something exciting when you know you used your own power to reach the destination where you want to be.



View at Mt. Luho, Boracay

During the afternoon, just as the sun mellows down, I biked to the southern part to see the Cagban, and Tambisaan beaches. The main highway is congested at this time so it is harder to navigate but the traffic dies down as the road diverges from the main street.


Cagban Beach, Boracay

Cagban Beach

Tambisaan Beach, Boracay

Tambisaan Beach


The total distance of the the Boracay bike ride is a little above 26 kms. The ride offers just enough challenge as the road passes through a rolling terrain- tamang hirap at ginhawa lang.


Although Boracay is not the tranquil place it used to be, biking the island is still a fun experience. Remnants of its forest can still be seen, and different bird songs still echos. Away from the town center and the main highway, the air is fresh and crisp as it grazes the skin.


I hope Boracay keep its remaining beauty intact. More developments and this gem will lose all its splendor.


I was alone in this adventure but it was never a lonely ride. The wind was a good company but anyone with a bike is welcome to join me next time as I (hopefully) bike around Sibuyan Island, Mindoro, Jomalig, and Guiuan, Eastern Samar.


xxx


Greenwayfarer advice: Let us do our best to lessen the wastes we generate whenever we travel by bringing re-usable items such as cloth bags, utensils, and your own water bottle. This is basic green travel etiquette but we have to remind ourselves of this every time. It may be a small gesture but if done by many, this can have a big impact on waste reduction. The wastes we generate do not vanish once we throw them out- every thing we throw away goes somewhere. So, here is another side of Boracay we do not want to see. I am putting this ugly truth out so that we are reminded of our impacts.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page