top of page

Discovering Sariaya, Quezon through Biking (Part 1) : The Sariaya (Poblacion)-Quezon Eco-tourism Rd.


Mt. Banahaw as seen from Brgy. Pili

Sariaya is a 1st class municipality in the province of Quezon. It has 43 barangays that is situated in a land area of 212.16 sq kms. To the north of the town center ( Poblacion), the majestic Mt. Banahaw looms over like a silent watchman, and to the south, the coast with its beaches and resorts. These geographic features make Sariaya unique as it is the only municipality in all of Quezon Province to have both the mountain and the sea within its area.


Agriculture plays an important role in the town’s economy and culture. Until now, rice and agricultural fields still abound in the rural barangays; during May, people of Sariaya honors San Ysidro- the saint of bountiful harvest by having the Agawan Festival. Here, agricultural produce is used to decorate houses, and “Bacagays” (bamboo with give-aways hanging from the branches) line designated streets during this festivity.


March 24, 2016- I live in Sariaya, Quezon and the only place I used to be familiar with is the Poblacion (town center). However, since I got my mountain bike on 2014 as a gift from my parents, I have been roaming around as much as I can, discovering the town’s nooks and crannies whenever I stay over for the weekends.

Biking proved to be a very rewarding activity and exercise. Not only did I got fitter, I also got to see our upland barangays, the areas near the coast, and the vast agricultural fields that lay in between. I never would’ve reached these interesting places by walking; going there by car is hard as the roads are sometimes very rugged and narrow that a car will have a hard time passing through.


Today, to get to know more of my town and to exercise, I rode my bike through what I called the “Sariaya (Poblacion)- Quezon Eco-tourism Rd. Loop”. I downloaded a Global Positioning System (GPS) track at mapmyride.com (thanks, rickvr) and overlaid it in maps.me so that I can follow the route.


I started at Brgy. Mamala II, and through the Mabini St. went for a one-and-a-half hour downhill bike ride passing through Brgys. Pili, Canda, and Janagdong until I reached the eco-tourism road. It was an exciting ride and as I cruised along, I noticed the road becoming bad until all that was left was a dirt road to follow. Exciting as it was, the ride was also scary as I was alone and it was my first time in that part of the town. I was afraid I might get lost!


Sariaya biking trail

Trail scene: an old hanging bridge traversing a river. Now, a concrete bridge goes over the river.

Sariaya biking trail

Trail passes the railway.


It might not be spectacular to some but the rural simplicity that greeted me- coconut plantations, rice fields, vegetable plots, and the farmers planting their crops; humble houses made of palm and bamboo, little concrete houses with lawns full of flowers and trees; dirt roads, more fields, infinite sky, and the view of Mt. Banahaw- is very meaningful. I have been living in the town for 24 years and it is only now that I understood how Sariaya is so rooted to the land and its cultivation. Now I understand why San Ysidro is celebrated with such high festivity! Also, living and working amidst the grime and pollution of Manila makes the province so refreshing and I welcome the sight of our countryside.



It was very quiet there, too! All I heard were the sounds of different birds, the occasional blow of the wind. Sometimes, there would be the sound of a car or a motorbike- but they pass-by eventually. There were no sounds of the TV, radio, or videoke so the ride is very relaxing.


Going back to the Poblacion was harder as the road runs toward the mountain. I arrived home at 1000H after biking for approximately 4hrs over a 26-km distance.


Sariaya biking trail

Rural Trail

Quezon Eco-toursim Road. We can bike all the way to Batangas here or go to Lucena.


Compared to my last bike rides at Sariaya where I always go up the road towards Mt. Banahaw, the ride to the coastal road and back to the Poblacion is easier and more relaxed even if it is longer. Going “up” to the mountains is really a punishing ride- it has its own reward though: the 20+ minute downhill rough road that will definitely give you a rush!


Sariaya really has so much be it mountain, beaches, agriculture products, and old heritage houses! I hope that the extensive and rugged Sariaya bike trails can be another attraction of the town. If you want to experience the bike trails, just contact me and I will tour you around. Just bring your own bike, ok?


I hope to do the loop again, soon. And then, next time, when I find myself bike companions, I hope to bike the trail going to Isabang, and the many other bike trail combinations possible from the town.


Til’ next time!

Another view of Mt. Banahaw and Mt. Cristobal

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page