top of page

Valentine's Day hike: Testing the injured knee at the Anawangin hills


Anawangin cove viewed at +225 meters above sea level (masl)


I am proud to say that my parents are very adventurous. They had been with me to some day hikes (Mt. Maculot, Mt. Pinangbanderahan, Batad hike to Tapia Falls) in the past and together we have explored caves (Sumaging-Lumiang at Sagada) and went to places as far away as South Korea. We love to experience beautiful places and to travel together. Our Anawangin trip , however, is the first trip where we camped.


The Anawangin camp is really convenient. There is running water, toilets, as well as sari-sari stores where one can buy halo-halo, swim wear, shirts, pasalubongs, and other basic necessities. For my parents who are first time campers however, the Anawangin camp ground is as rugged as the far away mountain camps tucked away in verdant forests.


What makes Anawangin beautiful and unforgettable is not merely the beach and the sea. It is more of the imposing mountains that looms at your side while swimming at the beach. These are rocky mountains covered mostly by grasses than trees.


For those looking for challenge, one can hike from Pundaquit to the Anawangin cove via Mt. Pundaquit for 4-5 hours. I cannot do the hike at the moment so I just went up what the guides call “Hilltop”- an easy 15-minute hike destination from the camp ground- on our day 1. Missing hiking, I went further and hiked to the higher crest for another 15-20 minutes. No one ventures there often and I am glad to have the place all to myself.




On Day 2 I went back to the “Hilltop” and followed the ridge going to higher grounds. The path is well established but became overgrown and very steep as I got higher. There were places where I have to go through thickets and do rock scrambling. It was a little scary because I was hiking alone but my desire to hike again and test my injured knee pushed me to go.


The trail is steep and at times covered with bamboo thickhets (L); Rock scambling is a must in some parts (R)


I reached the crest on the ridge I was aiming for after an hour of hiking. My altimeter recorded + 225 masl. It was good to know that my body can still handle steep ascents even after having no hikes for one-and-a half months already- what I’m really worried about my little hike is the descent as it is more difficult on the knees.


I stayed for about 10 minutes at the ridge deliberating between pushing on to reach the summit or going back down. I choose to go down as my parents are probably worried and also because I don’t have any water as well as breakfast. Also, I could feel my knees hurting again. I hope to reach that unnamed summit next time!


As I went down, it is also intersting to note the presence of intersting flora along the trail. Here are some of the plants that stood out while I was hiking:


Wonder what are the names of these awesome plants! Are they native?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page