top of page

Mt. Makiling: Childhood Dream Come True

View from Mt. Makiling (taken by: Leigh Lunas)

Here’s the story: when I was in 4th grade, I went to Los Banos, Laguna together with my parents for a family day event. I remember being on a floater in a warm pool while staring endlessly at mountain covered by a verdant forest. It was an enchanting sight, and something in me was captivated instantly. I remember I wanted to see it closer, but I am confined to the walls of the resort where we are staying.


Later I found out that the mountain is called Mt. Makiling. Since that moment, whenever our vehicle passes it or whenever I find myself at Los Banos, I cannot help but watch helplessly in awe of the mountain’s silent grace. I want to get closer but I don’t know how. I had no idea then that people can climb mountains to experience its beauty.


When I was introduced to hiking, Mt. Makiling is on the top of my mountain wish list. I don’t know why but it took two years before I was able to climb it.


December 11, 2014- Still tired from another climb the day before at Mt. Cinco Picos, I went to Mt. Makiling with some friends from Miriam College to celebrate the birthday of Leigh Lunas- college classmate and hiking buddy since I started in 2013. I was thinking of backing out but I don’t want to disappoint Leigh. Also, I don’t want to disappoint myself for letting my dreams of 1.) Climbing back to back in a weekend, and 2.) Climbing Mt. Makiling, go without even trying.


Our group met at HM Transport in EDSA and rode a bus going to Los Banos. It only took one and a half hours and by 0630H, we are already negotiating with the jeepney that will take us to the registration area inside UP Los Banos.


We started the hike at 0715H after the registration (P10). The air feels light and refreshing as we walked along the tree lined trail. Progress at Mt. Makiling is indicated by 30 stations and for about 2 ½ hours, we hiked a very wide cemented/ rocky road that stretches from the registration up until Aguila Base.


Makiling trail- Leigh Lunas
rocky trail- Leigh Lunas

Established trail at Mt. Makiling (photo taken by: Leigh Lunas)


As we entered the wilderness zone, the trail narrowed just a bit and the vegetation grew heavier. We got lost for a while when we failed to see a trail sign and went to climb a gully instead of following the trail. Up until here, the trail is fairly even with rocks strewn everywhere. It is only when we reached station 22 that the trail became steep and very muddy, and therefore, very challenging especially to the first time hikers in the group.


Assault- Leigh Lunas

The steep assault to summit requires the use of ladder


The first timers really had a hard time climbing and pulling themselves up the boulders leading to Peak 2. After negotiating station 22- 30 for 3 hours, we arrived at the summit under an overcast sky that threatens rain. It was cold at the summit. We only stayed for one hour so we can have our lunch and our much longed for rest. We didn’t even checked if there are spots where we can see some views.


Mt. Makiling Summit- Princess del Castillo

Summit friends (photo by: Princess del Castillo)


At 01345H we are already on our way down to the muddy slope of Mt. Makiling. The trail feels longer and we cannot wait for the hike to end. Though very tired, we have to walk faster so that we can be at the registration area before dark. Good thing, a jeepney offered us a ride (not free, though! P50 each) out of the trail and into the UP LB campus.


For our post climb, we went at Café Ella. There we discussed the key points of our hike i.e budget, itinerary, educational value, safety, fun, etc. It has been a long time since I had a “structured” post climb. I was very glad we had it because I got to know more of my hiking buddies.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page