top of page

Mt. Cinco Picos: The Hike to Peak 4

Mt. Cinco Picos: The Hike to Peak 4

Mt. Cinco Picos-Zambales

Mt. Cino Picos: Peak 1-3 as seen in Peak 4

January 10, 2015- I never expected to hike so early in the year that’s why when sir Gideon Lasco invited me to join his first hike for 2015 at Mt. Cinco Picos, I was very excited and nervous. When he said that the hike is an exploratory one and that we may be the first mountaineers to ever reach the true summit of Mt. Cinco Picos, my excitement really went off the roof. I don’t want to appear weak and unprepared (like in the Mt. Naguiling climb) so I switched off the holiday mood and forced myself to start my training runs after too much hayahay during the holidays. I think I panicked and in the course of my 7-day preparation period, I almost got an injury. I thought I would not be able to climb because of a serious wound but the call of the mountains is stronger than the occasional sharp pain from my knee.


As the name of the mountain suggests, the mountain we have to hike has five peaks. Hikers, we have been told, have reached only as far as Peak 2. The reason for this is that there is no trail leading to Peak 3-5. As the goal of the climb is only to reach the true summit of Cinco Picos, our group is only hiking up to the fourth peak via a newly constructed trail.


Zambales before sunrise

Early call time. Early Start of Hike


Our group started the hike at 5:05am after a 4-hour journey from Quezon City to Sitio Cawag at Subic, Zambales. We can still see the stars shining when we started and the air feels very chilly. I would have brought my jacket but I know it would not be long before the notorious heat set upon us.


I expected a very intense hike - intense as in assault all the way under scorching heat. What we had though was an easy, rolling grassland trail that we hiked for about four and a half hours. It was only during the last hour of our hike to Peak 1 that the trail eventually inclined.

Assault to Peak 1

Assault to Peak 1


Upon reaching first peak (803 MASL), one can appreciate the beauty of Silanguin Cove with its outline of white sand, and infinitely blue waters. The mountains Dayungan, and Balingkilat can also be seen looming and inviting not too far it seems.


View of Silanguin Cove

Silanguin Cove viewed from Peak 1


The ascent to Peak 2 ( 825 MASL) was just a bit more challenging as we negotiate a continuously sloping trail with taller talahib grasses that seem to swallow us whole. At the last part, just before the summit, the trail becomes rocky and we have to pull ourselves to get up. Huge boulders, reminiscent of Mt. Maculot’s rockies, characterize the top of the second peak. Up here, one can get a better view of sweeping landscape and seascape of Zambales. Mt. Natib, Mt. Samat, and the Mariveles mountain range can also be seen at Peak 2 according to my companions, as well as the other three peaks of Cinco Picos.


Cinco Picos- Peak 2

At Peak 2- Sir Coby is unafraid of both heights and strong winds!

Mt. Cinco Picos

Sir Niel with Peaks 3-5 at the background


The descent from the 2nd peak is steep and challenges the knees. However, there are boulders that one can step on/hold until the ascent to peak 3.


A change in vegetation marks the start of the ascent to Peak 3 (883 MASL). From the open, grassy trails of the first and second peaks, the trail becomes more forested going to the third peak. The trail is not yet very established as it was only opened a few days before we arrived. There were times when I get confused from all the brambles and branches all around and end up digressing from the trail. The soil at this part is also loose and sandy. For support, one can hold on/ step on rocks and tree branches to get up. Just make sure the root/ branch you are holding is strong enough to support you.


To Peak 3- Mt. Cinco Picos

Forested trails of Peak 3


The covered trail continues to the 4th peak which is just 20 minutes away from Peak 3. We arrived at our destination at 12:05 PM hungry and tired but at the same time refreshed and invigorated from a very nice 7-hour hike. We stayed for about one and a half hours for lunch, some rest, and of course, pictures. After all, we may be the first hikers to reach Peak 4 (917 MASL).


Mt. Cinco Picos- Peak 4

Silanguin Cove viewed from Peak 4

Mt. Cinco Picos-Peak 4

Summit's such a fine place for a nap


10922568_10153514969523082_4437782334999398471_n.jpg

Celebratory Summit Photo (by Sir Mon Gayas)


We arrived at the jump-off after hiking for another six hours. While negotiating the trail going down from Peak 1, I was confronted with one of my nightmares: a fork in the trail. There was no one in front so I took a guess and followed the trail going right. I found myself in the middle of a shadowy forest- a landscape I don’t remember. Running (and almost in panic), I backtracked to the fork and tried the path on the left that led to a river. There I found my hiking companions waiting for me beside the riverbank (thank goodness I found them!). Nakakahiya, but really it was nice getting lost and finding your friends after.


For the much anticipated celebratory dinner/ post climb, we went to Texas Joe’s where they serve savory baby back ribs (so yummy!) The delicious food is such a great reward for a challenging day full of ups and downs. I hope for more climbs at the Zambales area and more post climbs at Texas Joe’s.


In Retrospect

Open grassy trails, extreme heat, and a long hike is not the most ideal combination in hiking. I experienced the killer combo first at Mt. Batulao, and then Tagapo and both easily became my most traumatizing hikes.


I expected that the hike to Peak 4 of Mt. Cinco Picos will be 5x as taxing as the hike to Mt. Batulao, and Mt. Tagagpo. However, we were very lucky as it was windy all throughout our hike. At the exposed peaks, we have to be careful so as not to be snatched by the wind and fall off the cliffs.


Mt. Cinco Picos, with the beautiful views, amazing weather, challenging hike, and awesome hiking companions is one of my most favorite hikes to date together with Mt. Tapulao and Mt. Daraitan. Heartfelt thanks to all who made this hike possible. I don’t know how I came to be with such amazing people but as Maria (from the Sound of Music) said (or better yet, sung), “somewhere in my wicked, miserable past, I must have done something good”.



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page