top of page

Tarak Ridge (+1,130 MASL)- A Hayahay Major Climb

Tarak Ridge- A Hayahay Major Climb

November 8, 2014- I remember a trail friend telling me that I can already do a Tarak Ridge hike after that grueling trek to Mt. Naguilling last July 2014. It was the first time I’ve heard of that mountain and right then and there, I put Tarak Ridge on my mountain wish list. Like my other mountains, I have no clear idea how will accomplish Tarak, I just know that one day, I’m going to summit it. And true enough I did because Anna Bass (my Tapulao companion) invited me to her birthday climb (yahoo!). Climbing with us is another of hiking buddy of Anna, Gab de Vera.

The original plan for Anna’s birthday climb was to do a Pantingan-Tarak traverse, however, a problem with the guide caused her to cancel the event. We felt sad that the Pantingan-Tarak traverse got aborted but our spirits got well again after Anna secured a guide to Paniquian trail- the less famous but more challenging route to Tarak.

At about 4:00 am, we left Quezon City- happy and excited- and headed to Mariveles, Bataan via Genesis Liner. We arrived 3 hours later to find our guide grumpy and refusing to accompany us to the agreed trail. Frustrated, we hired two “guides” who claimed they know the Paniquian trail, however, these guides brought us to the traditional trail (which Anna and Gab know very well) indicating that the river we are passing is Paniquian when it is the Papaya River.

We do not want to argue so we let the guides go back. We stayed at the Papaya River for almost an hour and a half cooling our heads off and asking why we are so unlucky on that day. After having lunch and refilling our water containers, we have no other choice but to take the traditional trail. Anna and Gab who are 4- time and 5- time Tarak climbers, respectively, was so annoyed at what happed. I, on the other hand still feels joyous as it was my first time on that trail- ah! the advantages of being a newbie!

Facebook - Untitled

Refreshing waters of the Papaya River

Trail

Tarak Ridge- even going via the traditional trail- is considered a major climb, thus, a challenging trail is to be expected. A terrain with moderate assaults characterizes the first part of the trail (starting from Nanay Cording’s hut to Papaya River). Trees cover most part of this trail but there were patches where there are no tree covers. With our overnight packs, we hiked this part for about two hours.

Facebook - Untitled

Hayahay no. 1

Facebook - Untitled

A sudden assault at the first part of the trail

The real assault (and maybe the reason why Tarak is considered a major climb) starts after the Papaya River. At this part, the trail just goes up and up and there were some parts where you have to scramble up rocks and roots just to get up. Though the hike in this part can be exhausting, the shaded trail and the cool winds that pass the trail are very refreshing.

Facebook - Untitled
Facebook - Untitled

Hayahay under the cool shade of the trees

It would’ve been difficult to hike this second part of the trail with our heavy bags, however, we have so much time to kill so we took our time hiking. There was even one part where we just laid down the trail and sleep/stare at the canopy for 15 minutes at least.

Facebook - Untitled

Scrambilng through roots and rocks is required to see the awesome views:

The Ridge

Facebook - Untitled
Facebook - Untitled

Difficult trails are the ways to the most amazing views. After about three hours of hiking from the Papaya River, we finally reached the ridge of Tarak. From there I could see other mountains of the Mariveles range, the Manila Bay, and the Island of Corregidor. As I stare at the landscape before me, I could not help but imagine that I am in a “The Hobbit” type of adventure again. While Anna and Gab rest at the campsite, I sit upon a rock to take in the grand view and feel the wind- I now understand why my two hiking companions consider Tarak as one of their most favorite mountains.

While we were waiting for the sunset, a light rain fell and then clouds and fog obscured the view. A little while later, the rain got stronger- this, combined with the wind is truly awful. I felt so cold even though I was wearing a shirt, windbreaker, arm warmers and a raincoat.

As the rain showed no sign of stopping, we started cooking our dinner under the dreary and cold weather where I felt like Bilbo Baggins as he dreams of his warm and comfortable room back at the Shire. It was awful cooking under the rain but there is no other way. After about an hour, food was ready. We ate inside Gab’s tent and shared between us our 99.99% perfect rice, mechado (yahoo real food at the camp) , and warm warm noodles.

Facebook - Untitled

Camp food perfection

We slept early and woke up late in the morning. After a quick breakfast, we prepared to leave for the summit. We slowed down our pace deliberately and took our time at the ridge to feel the slashing wind.

The hike up the summit is a quick 20 minute ascent. It was enjoyable because we have to hold on to roots and rocks now without our heavy packs. After dodging some more branches, we finally emerged in a little clearing marked with a gnarly, leafless tree and some boulders- tada! Summit! There we met other hikers who were either going down Tarak or breaking camp (the summit is forested but can accommodate a few tents).

Facebook - Untitled

A lonely, leafless (lifeless?) tree marks the summit

I thought the adventure was over but then we hiked for another 15 minutes away from the summit. I don’t know what that areas is called but the view is even wonderful. From there we can see the ridge in its full glory and turning to look backwards, we can see some parts of the Mariveles caldera. With the mesmerizing beauty up there, we forgot the time and when we looked at our watched, it is already noon!

Facebook - Untitled

Descent

With the beauty that I saw at Tarak, I almost forgot that we still have a challenging trail to tackle going down. We have to catch the 5pm bus to Manila so idling at the trail is over. Ok lang because I found out that it is quite nice to run at the trail. By 5: 30pm, we are comfortable at the bus already- bathed, fed and sweetly tired from an awesome adventure.

Right now, I am dreaming of going there via Paniquian trail and seeing some waterfalls or the challenging Pantingan- Tarak traverse. I just wish I am strong enough to do those trails. :D

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page