top of page

Mt. Daraitan (739+ MASL)


Mt. Daraitan

October 18, 2014- I should be at Mt. Pinagbanderahan in Atimonan (another mountain within the Sierra Madre Mountain Range) to accompany a friend but I found myself in a van heading to Mt. Daraitan in Tanay, Rizal with the company of Sir Gideon Lasco and friends. I felt so guilty and disappointed with myself in cancelling Pinagbanderahan but this might be my only chance to climb Mt. Daraitan within this year, so I have to go. Also, I found it hard to pass an invite from one of the people I really look up to.


To go to Mt. Daraitan, we travelled via the Rizal-Infanta road for about an hour then turned left to a rough road with the aid of a Daraitan signage. We travelled for about 30 mins until we reach the shore of Daraitan River where we parked. I heard that there should have been a small bridge to aid us on the river crossing however, I think it has been washed-out already so we have to ride on a raft to cross to the other side. We rode a trike afterwards, which dropped us off at the Brgy. Hall of Daraitan after about a 10-15 minutes ride.


We began the trek up the forever ascending and forested trail of Mt. Daraitan at 8: 45 am (according to my watch). The steepness of the ascent reminds me of the trail of Mt. Maculot which is not quite challenging but will still leave you breathless. Since it was raining all night, the trail was also very muddy and slippery but there are handholds, roots and jutting rocks to aid us in up.

Mt. Daraitan trail

Mt. Daraitan trail

view at Mt. Daraitan

View about halfway through the trail

We reached the summit at 10:42 am after almost 2 hours of mud filled ascent. The view, of course, was rewarding. There was a little section at the summit covered by some limestone formation- there we took our time for our photos with the jagged rocks as our foreground, and the majestic mountains of the Sierra Madre for the background.


Mt. Daraitan Summit by Brent Tan

Summit (Photo by Brent Tan)


Kuya Boyet took us to the “Rockies”- a spot just 5-minute walk away from where we camped at the summit - after we had our lunch. There we saw other mountains of the Sierra Madre range and the meandering Daraitan River. Ivan Cultura and Sir Gideon took turns identifying other mountains such as Mt. Tagapo, Mt. Sembrano, Mt. Batolusong , and Mt. Makiling. We stayed at the Rockies longer for the view was much better. Looking back, what I most remember at that spot is Sir Gideon saying something on the way the mountains still astounds even after being on so many of them.

Rockies view

View at the Rockies

We went down at 12:42pm following the same trail then digressing at a fork going to Tinipak River. The muddy trail became more challenging during the descent, good thing there are many roots, plants and rocks to hold on. Some people do not like muddy trails, but I found it amusing. Mud just reminds me so much of childhood.


After about an hour and a half, we arrived at the Tinipak river. We dipped at the small spring to refresh ourselves and clean our shoes. From the spring, we could see the mountain we have just climbed, as well as the rugged boulders at the river- this is the Daraitan I see online which is reminiscent of the landscape of Biak na Bato. My eyes were feasting on the rocks. I don’t understand, but boulders makes me happy and fills me with lots of positive energy.


by ivan cultura.jpg

Tinipak River (Photo by Ivan Cultura)


As we prepared to leave Tinipak River, I felt a little sad that our trip is nearly at its end. I still want more of the beautiful landscape. My wish was granted because little did I know, we still have up to twenty minutes

of river trekking. We did not just hiked alongside the riverbank, we also waded in the water and walked up

the boulders! Amazing! Really adventure never ends at Daraitan.


181020143222.jpg
181020143224.jpg

To cap our Daraitan trip, we ate especial “Lome” at a store near the Brgy. Hall. It was our post climb #1 because when we arrived at Q.C., we were treated by Sir Niel and Ms. Nicole Dagondon to a very healty JuJu Dinner of greens and more greens. Hurrah for post climb #2!


Special Lome at Daraitan

Special Lome is truly special!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page