top of page

Remembering Mt. Naguiling

August 9, 2014- Mt. Naguiling is a slap on the face kind of climb- a hard, sharp slap on the face that made me realize the answer to me questions. Here’s why: just a week ago before that climb, a friend and I were contemplating whether we are still beginners in hiking or not. We’ve reached the summits of almost 10 mountains now and we were thinking maybe it is really time to stop calling us beginners as her friend suggested. I almost agreed, but then, Mt. Naguiling happened. It was a wake-up call; it was the answer I was looking for. Today, when I ask myself again if I am I still a beginner, I say, I shout, “Yes I am” a thousand times over. Not a first timer anymore, but definitely still a beginner.

Our day started early: at 2:50 am in the morning, I was already in the van with Sir Gideon and his friend Jenny on the way to pick-up other hikers who will be climbing as well. I was expecting a very easy climb (I don't know where I got this idea), but the day was full of surprises. Apart from the fact that the team was composed of mountaineers that have reached many, if not all of our country’s highest and most dangerous peaks and have also climbed (or is planning to climb) some of the world’s most imposing summits, we have a trek estimated to last 10 hours ahead of us.


As I further hear other details of the climb (which I didn’t asked), my sky started to fall. I managed to keep myself together, but inside me, there was a storm brewing: I was so scared, so nervous and intimidated. When I heard the accomplishments of my hiking companions, I felt even smaller. I desperately wanted to get off the van and wallow at home for being a novice.


Really, I don’t know what I am doing with seasoned climbers who, for sure, will leave me huffing and puffing my lungs out once we started the hike. In addition, the hike with a 6-hr ascent is scaring me out of my wits. I was not prepared. Not physically, not mentally prepared to all that’s happening, to all that's going to happen.


The last thing I want on a climb is to be a burden to the team. I don’t want to slow down anyone and with no proper preparation (it has been five days since I last had a good run), I was worried I won’t be able to make it. I felt my lack of training just after 20 minutes of walking in an ascending trail at the foot of Mt. Naguiling. My lungs and legs were already exploding and I have no idea how I can last for another 5 hours and 40 minutes.

But there is no backing out of the climb. I know from that moment we left the last house at the trail that more than being physically challenging, the climb will also be a test of my mental endurance. So, I urged myself to go forward, straining myself and my mind to go beyond all my limits for I know that behind all my fears, beyond the silent curses I uttered, I wanted that climb, I know I needed that climb.

10409285_10202514811172659_9140509128747876875_n.jpg

Mt. Naguiling trail

The ascending, forested trail feels never ending. It surely was the hardest climb of my life yet and there were delusional moments when I told myself I will never climb again. I felt a little pressure on being the pacer of the group, as I said, I don’t want to slow anyone down. So on and on I went- my body on auto pilot mode- until we emerged from the bramble of trees and branches into the hot afternoon sun shining above the summit of Mt. Naguiling. It was a breathtaking view to see the ocean and the island of Mindoro with Mt. Halcon outlining the horizon. It was breathtaking to know I conquered myself again.

10552553_10202514834413240_8136426055087383770_n.jpg

View at the summit

Amazingly, when I playback that climb in my mind, I don’t remember the exhaustion I went through. What I remember is the moment we drank buko juice, the moment we rested at Inabutan forest where we shared stories, and the moment we took that first dip at the cool waters of the unnamed mini falls.


Also, I realize that it was not only the summit that made me love the Mt. Naguiling climb so much. It was the people I was with, and the excruciating climb itself- the explosion in my lungs, my hurting legs and toes, my exhausted body. I cannot explain it. It is as if I am able to rest as I challenge by body to its breaking point. As we take the ride home, I look at the mountaineers I have climbed with and remember the stories of their summits. In that moment, I know I will climb again very soon, I know that I will be climbing as long as my body permits me.


As a novice mountaineer, there is still a lot to see, a lot more to climb, a lot more summits to reach, and a lot more pain to experience. Mt. Naguiling was just an introduction. Now, I am ready to pursue more challenging climbs and I hope to meet again many seasoned climbers that will inspire me to move.

This is just the start! More summits to us.

1-IMG_4650-001.JPG

Group shot (from pinoymountaineer.com)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page